New Elementary School Naming Committee

Committee Scope, Schedule, and Membership

Committee Scope:

The committee shall recommend to the Board of Education a minimum of three (3) to a maximum of five (5) possible names for the New PreK-5 Elementary School. To develop its recommendations, the committee shall invite the public and members of the school community to suggest school names. The committee shall evaluate the suggestions from the public as well as those of the committee members using the criteria set forth in Policy #7551. 

Committee Schedule:

The Committee shall make its recommendations to the Board of Education no later than February 1, 2024. Prior to making such a recommendation, the committee shall hold two public input sessions – the first to solicit potential school names from the public and the second to solicit feedback on a set of school names up for further consideration.  

Committee Members:

Chair of the Board of Education (ex officio), Superintendent (ex officio), Board of Education member (1), the building principal (1), faculty members (2), parents/guardians (2), community members (1)

Total voting members: 7