23-24 SCC Scholar Leader Awards

Southern Connecticut Conference Scholar Leader recognition is given to students who have demonstrated outstanding scholarship and leadership in their respective school and external communities. The two DHHS recipients, Paige Steffen and Matthew Kasper, were celebrated at the 30th Annual Scholar Leader Banquet on April 1.

Paige Steffen

Paige Steffen is a remarkable young person who excels in and out of the classroom. She has impressively balanced the demands of our most challenging courses while fully committing to a host of extracurricular activities and athletics. Paige’s will to succeed, high standards, and work ethic have resulted in numerous accolades including; induction into the National Honor Society, numerous academic awards, PTO awards, and the Seal of Bi-Literacy in Spanish. She is a major contributor to our school’s soccer and lacrosse teams including being named Captain during her senior year. She is also a member of multiple clubs including: Choices, Girls Mentoring, Spanish Club, Diversity Club, Fashion Club, and Girls United. Paige’s leadership, drive to succeed, commitment, and concern for others are simply incredible. 

Matthew Kasper

Compassionate, dedicated, independent, and successful are just a few words that describe Matt Kasper. He has excelled in our most challenging courses while continually taking on new challenges and responsibilities. Matt’s efforts have resulted in impressive accomplishments and recognition including: National Honor Society induction, departmental awards for academic excellence, seal of bi-literacy in Spanish, and Harvard Book Award for excellence and character. Outside of the classroom, Matt has made a positive impact through the activities he has been involved including a member and Captain of our Indoor and Outdoor Track teams, co-captain of the Science Olympiad club, volunteered his time for Brighter Beginnings club where he helps gather baby and infant supplies for local families and is dedicated to coaching youth basketball in the community.


Matthew Kasper and Paige Steffen